LTER Awarded 2010 AIBS Distinguished Scientist Award

Philip Robertson accepted the 2010 AIBS Distinguished Scientist Award on behalf of the LTER Network. Photo by Julie Palakovich Carr, AIBSThe Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) Network is the recipient of the 2010 Distinguished Scientist Award by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) for significant scientific contributions to the biological sciences.

G. Philip Robertson, the Chair of the LTER Science Council and Executive Board, accepted the Award on behalf of the LTER Network during the award ceremony, held May 18, 2010, in Washington, DC.

Robertson, who is also professor of Ecosystem Science in the Department of Crop and Soil Science at Michigan State University and Principal Investigator for the Kellogg Biological Station LTER site in Michigan, observed: "We are both grateful for and humbled by this high honor, which recognizes the collective contributions of several thousand Network scientists working to advance ecological knowledge in ecosystems facing unprecedented environmental change."